Weeks 31-32


Feeling: Sleepy! Towards the end of week 31 and throughout most of week 32, I felt like I was hit by the exhaustion truck. I was reminded of the intense fatigue of the first trimester a little bit. However, after visiting my chiropractor/acupuncturist this week, I’ve been sleeping better and therefore feeling much better. I hope it lasts! I’m also really trying to cherish these last two months with my baby girl before her world as she knows it gets turned a little upside down! While I’m so excited and can’t wait to meet our baby boy, I’m also a bit sad about it no longer just being Scarlett and Mama, if that makes sense? I just hope we can transition into this new stage smoothly, and that Scarlett will still feel just as loved as she is now and not get her feelings hurt that she now has to share some of mama/dada’s attention.

Symptoms:

  • Fatigue 
  • Still get cramping in lower abdomen when I try to jog on treadmill or go for longer walks
  • Itchy left palm
  • Have to pee constantly 
  • Just started feeling a sort of pulling/stretching sensation (hard to explain) in upper inner thighs at times that I remember from my first pregnancy 
  • Lots of Braxton-Hicks, especially in the evening 
  • Lots and lots of baby movement, especially in the evening/night
  • Reduced appetite in the evenings
  • Thighs are starting to rub together, haha
  • Feel bigger as the day goes on

Cravings: Grapefruit!! I’ve been eating one a day + drinking grapefruit juice in lieu of orange juice after dinner. Also still absolutely love my Jimmy Johns veggie subs.

Aversions: For the past month or so, Asian food just doesn’t appeal to me at all (usually one of my faves!). Most of our usual dinner options don’t appeal to me either—paired with my reduced appetite in the evenings, trying to come up with dinner ideas is tough! Luckily we’ve gotten a few Sunbasket deliveries which makes it easier, plus the smaller portion sizes are ideal for me right now since I just don’t have much room in there right now;)

Sleep: Meh. As mentioned above, I’ve slept better after seeing the chiropractor, but there’s been a lot of nights where I wake up 3-4 times, then get up to go to the bathroom, and then have trouble falling back asleep. It’s also more and more difficult to maneuver myself when tossing and turning to get comfortable.

Workouts: I took weeks 30-31 off from doing Tracy Anderson in exchange for shorter workouts–alternated grit strength/Jillian Michaels workouts with cardio workouts (mostly cycling). This past week I did 3 Tracy workouts after doing a little cardio,  one 30 min cycling workout, a Jillian Michaels workout, and I think one 20 min cardio workout (don’t remember). As you can see, I’m struggling a bit with cardio right now since cycling is really the only thing I can do comfortably, and I’m usually someone who loves mixing it up with dance cardio, running, kickboxing, plyometrics, etc. I can still do plyometrics without cramping, but definitely have to modify some of the moves and take it a bit easier. I was able to do body combat comfortably, although this past week I started cramping up within the first 10 min. I’ll probably try it again this week to see if it happens again, since I view it to be pretty low impact and I was able to do it comfortably last pregnancy in my third trimester.

Baby Prep: I really need to make an official to-do list of all that needs to get done in these next 8ish weeks before baby boy comes! Still mostly window shopping everything we’ll need to get before baby bear’s arrival–but the instant Justin gets his bonus $, it’s game on!! I just finished week 4 of my Hypnobabies home study, and am really enjoying it this time around even more than last time. I look forward to my daily hypnosis sessions and love dreaming about holding my little cubby in my arms 💙 I also feel so much more at ease and confident about my birthing this time around since being at the birthing center.

Leave a Reply

