Weeks 27-28

Officially in the third trimester! Time is flying!

Feeling: Refreshed! We took a family vacation to Scottsdale, AZ this past week and some sun and fresh air was just what we all needed after the nasty never-ending cold we were all hit with after Christmas. Also feeling a little nervous as next week I have to do the glucose test during my midwife appointment. I’m also excited to start my Hypnobabies self-study program again.

Symptoms:

  • Sacroiliac pain in my left hip (started a few weeks ago)–so far it’s been most uncomfortable when sitting on the floor 
  • Cramping in lower abdomen (mostly right side) when walking for longer periods or trying to run on the treadmill 
  • Thirsty all the time
  • Itchy left palm
  • Had my first Charlie horse in the middle of the night (hopefully first and last!)
  • Achey mid back 
  • Morning sickness is pretty much gone, although I still feel a little queasy every now and then 

Sleep: Unfortunately I had a few sleepless nights while we were in AZ: smaller bed+no Snoogle+a snoring husband=blah. But since we’ve been back home, I’ve been sleeping better.

Cravings: While in AZ I couldn’t get enough of big salads, green juice, and hummus with pita. I’ve also been craving sweets here and there (although I hardly ever eat them) which was a previous aversion.

Aversions: Nothing out of the ordinary 

Exercise: I try to do something most days, whether it’s just 20 minutes of prenatal yoga, 20 minutes cardio + Tracy Anderson (or just Tracy without any cardio), a Jillian Michaels 20 minute workout, Body Combat, Grit Strength, or Spinning. I’m so thankful we own a spin bike (I haven’t gone to the gym since early in my first trimester since it’s just easier to get my workout out of the way during naptime) since I pretty much don’t last longer than 5 minutes on the treadmill before cramping these days. I’ve found a few awesome spinning workouts on YouTube, as I much prefer an instructed workout than just winging it by myself.

Baby Prep: Nothing other than a few items of clothing. We currently have 2 names on our list but I still feel the need to keep looking. The other night I woke up and my mind was racing about how unprepared we are as far as the nursery goes, due to the fact that we’re trying to sell our house so we don’t really want to set up his whole nursery, and then have to pack it right back up to move. I keep reminding myself that he will most likely sleep in our room for the first 5-6 months like Scarlett did–I think the process of setting up the nursery is more the need to nest and feel like you are more prepared for baby’s arrival, and it also adds to the excitement and anticipation of the little one’s arrival, so I’m a little sad I don’t get to do that this time around.

Leave a Reply

