The Third Trimester: The Last 10 Weeks

Today I am 40 weeks and 1 day–holy moly! Yesterday was baby girl’s “guess date”, but I wasn’t too surprised that she didn’t choose to make her grand entrance to the world on that particular day. My family and I have joked that she is already like her mommy—everyone wants her to come this weekend, so she probably won’t;)

Things have been beyond crazy the past 2 months trying to get everything in order before baby comes–between teaching full-time, taking two Masters classes, and baby preparation, I have been one busy lady.

So without further ado, here is a snapshot of my last 10 weeks of pregnancy.

31 weeks32 weeks33 weeks34 weeks35 weeks36 weeks37 weeks38 weeks39 weeks40 weeks

Overall, the third trimester has been pretty good to me!

I had my first baby shower on March 29 when I was 35 weeks, hosted by Justin’s aunts and sister-in-law.

baby shower

babyshower2

My co-workers also threw me a shower before school on April 3–yogurt parfait bar and pink donuts for the win!

shower3shower4

Last but not least, my sisters hosted a shower for me on April 4th at the Hearth Room Café in Town and Country when I was 36 weeks.

shower5

Baby Liam came to visit that weekend, too!! (he’s in the Baby K-Tan:)

The nursery is pretty much set, we’re just waiting on a rug and few more picture frames that will hang above the changing table. I’m very pleased with how it turned out!

nursery

Third Trimester Recap:

Nesting: The nesting instinct kicked in around 33 weeks–for both Justin and I:) We have spent the last few months getting the house ready for baby, and not just the nursery. We’ve made some updates to the whole house, including getting a new bed and mattress (next up will be a new dresser and nightstands), new curtains in the living room, updating some décor here and there throughout the house, and even Bud got a new bed!

budbed

Nausea: It will sometimes come creeping back (usually later in the day or anytime I’m really exhausted) but even then it is very mild compared to what it was earlier in my pregnancy.

Sleep: Besides having to get up more frequently throughout the night to pee (and therefore sometimes having trouble falling back asleep after taking my 3rd or 4th trip to the bathroom), I didn’t really  have any other sleep issues. Although I will say that the last 2 weeks have been the most challenging with trying to get (and stay) comfortable with this rather cumbersome belly:)

Cravings: Breakfast for dinner! The past three Friday nights, Justin and I have cooked up a delicious “brinner” of waffles or pancakes, scrambled eggs, chicken breakfast sausage, and fresh fruit–yum!

Aversions: Most of my food ones have passed, however my strongest aversion to any strong-smelling personal hygiene items such as deodorant and body wash has remained throughout my pregnancy. I have probably gone through at least 10 body washes in my quest to find one that didn’t nauseate me–the least offensive one I found to be Jason Pure Natural body wash in aloe vera.

jason

Workouts: I stopped going to the gym around 35 weeks because let’s face it, Zumba and BodyCombat were starting to get a bit awkward with the belly. However, I have continued working out about 5 days a week at home. Up until about 36 weeks I was still doing BodyPump and BodyCombat via YouTube, as well as Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 (with many moves modified of course) and a little bit of walking/running on the treadmill if it felt ok (running would sometimes cause a bad side cramp and I would have to stop). The past two weeks have consisted mainly of walking Buddy and Jillian Michaels–her workouts have been perfect because they’re a little bit of strength training and cardio all in one quick 25 minute workout.

Body: I really think continuing to workout and eat healthy throughout my pregnancy has helped me to avoid many unpleasant pregnancy symptoms such as aches and pains, swelling, sleep issues, heartburn, etc. Besides having nausea until around 25 weeks, I have had a really comfortable pregnancy! There were two strange days (one during week 32 and the other during week 38) where I felt really off and was having Braxton Hicks for hours at a time, which I think was probably brought on by stress. I have always heard that by the end of the 3rd trimester you are so uncomfortable that you are just ready for that baby to come on out–however, these last few weeks I have felt pretty great and I’m content with baby girl staying put until she fells like she is ready:) My overall weight gain has fluctuated between 27-30 lbs the past three weeks.

The weather was absolutely gorgeous this weekend and I got to just spend some time relaxing and enjoying my little family before it becomes just a little bit bigger:)

bud

It is so surreal and exciting to think that my next post will be introducing our baby girl!!! I can’t wait to meet her!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

❤ VKG

Leave a Reply

