Three Things Thursday (#5)

Thing #1: Probiotics

photo 4

Why probiotics?

According to WebMD, “Researchers believe that some digestive disorders happen when the balance of friendly bacteria in the intestines becomes disturbed.  This can happen after an infection or after taking antibiotics. Intestinal problems can also arise when the lining of the intestines is damaged. Taking probiotics may help”.

Why I Love Them: I have had tummy troubles since my early teens, including bloating and cramping after almost every meal. Of the many things I have tried to help feel better, probiotics are high up on my list. I have been taking a probiotic almost daily for 4 years, and they have done wonders for how I feel overall.

Here are some of the possible health benefits of probiotics:

  • Digestive Issues: Certain strains of probiotics have demonstrated positive results in treating diarrhea and gastroenteritis.
  • Brain Function: Probiotics might be beneficial in improving brain function. In addition, probiotic bacteria might have the potential to change brain neurochemistry and treat anxiety and depression-related disorders, according to a study published in the journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS).
  • Restore the Friendly Bacteria After Antibiotic Use: Antibiotics help destroy bad bacteria during illness, but they also cause damage to the beneficial bacteria that inhabit our guts as well. Supplementing with a good probiotic can help repopulate the gut with favorable species to replace those killed by the medication.
  • Cholesterol: Some strains of probiotics may reduce blood levels of LDL or “bad” cholesterol.
  • IBS: Studies have shown that supplementing with probiotics can help alleviate symptoms of Irritable Bowel Syndrome.
  • Infection: Regular probiotic use may help the fight against bacterial infections.

Source

Along with the probiotic shown above, I have also had great results with this one from Garden of Life:

photo 5


Thing #2: Watermelon

photo 3

Why I Love It: Perhaps my favorite summertime treat, and possibly the most refreshing food on Earth, watermelon also has some great possible health benefits:

  • Asthma prevention
  • Can help reduce high blood pressure
  • Rich in antioxidants that fight free radicals known to cause cancer
  • Promote digestion and regularity
  • Contains choline which reduces chronic inflammation
  • Hydration–watermelons are 92% water and contain important electrolytes
  • Can help reduce muscle soreness and speed up recovery after a workout
  • Rich in vitamin A which is great for your skin and hair!

source

Choosing a Watermelon

I pride myself on my ability to choose high-quality produce (yes, I am that crazy lady spending an hour in the produce section carefully examining each strawberry and head of broccoli) and picking out a good watermelon is very serious business. Here is what I look for:

  • Knock on it: A perfectly ripe one should have a deep, hollow sound as opposed to a shallow, dull sound (meaning its over or under ripe)
  • Feels heavy for its size: this is the best way to make sure its nice & juicy! I compare melons of a similar size and choose the one that feels the heaviest!
  • Has a sizable pale spot on the bottom–this means that it had plenty of time to ripen in the watermelon patch before it was picked–ripe=sweet

Cutting Up Watermelon

I always insist on being the designated watermelon cutter, not only because I enjoy eating one piece for every piece I put in the container, but I also believe that I have a very good cutting method.

1. Cut the watermelon down the middle.

photo 1

2. Put one half face down, and set the other half aside.

3. Starting from the top and cutting downwards, remove the green and white parts section by section.

watermelon cutting

4. Inspect your watermelon mound, removing any white spots you may have missed.

photo 4

5. Slice off a 1-2 inch slab from the mound.

photo 5

6. Slice vertically 5 times and horizontally 5 times, like so:

photo 1

7. Eat one piece for every piece you put in the container (do not skip this step!)

8. Repeat on other watermelon half.


Thing #3: Yes To Coconut Lip Balm

Why I Love It: I am a chapstick junkie and I have about 6 different kinds in my purse at any given time, and this one is probably in my top 3 favorite chapsticks of all time which is a pretty big deal. Here are some reasons I love it so:

  • It is made from 99% natural ingredients, including 3 of my all-time beauty favorites: shea butter, coconut, and aloe
  • It smells absolutely heavenly
  • I am not grossed out if I accidentally get some in my mouth
  • It makes my lips feel smooth as butta
  • It is only $2.99 at Target
  • It comes in an oval-shaped tube instead of a cylindrical tube which makes it easy to identify when digging around in my purse (like I said, I have many other chapsticks so this is a convenient feature for me)

So this week when you’re at Target (because most people go there weekly, am I right?) you might want to pick this little gem up, mmkay?


What are 3 things you are digging lately??

 

Leave a Reply

