A San Francisco Afternoon

Hello friends! It’s been way too long since our last chat! I was hoping to check in while I was in CA but there was just so much to see and do that I didn’t even get a chance to open my computer. Anyway, I have much to share with you about the past week so without further ado…

San Francisco

After five and a half hours of travel, the first thing on our minds when we arrived in San Francisco was to get out and stretch our legs, and of course FOOD. My sister, who was staying in Silicon Valley with her husband who was there for work (he works at Google), picked us up from the airport and we had plans to spend the afternoon exploring San Fran.

We enjoyed walking around the city and it was tough to choose a place to eat–everything looked awesome! We walked through The Ferry Building Marketplace and I was super impressed by all the different little shops, cafes, and restaurants there.

photo 1

Everything was set up so perfectly that I was almost afraid to touch anything and I felt like I had to take pictures like a ninja or else I would break/ruin something, like these perfectly aligned cupcakes.

photo 1

photo 2

Luckily, I was not afraid to touch the free samples that many of the little shops offered. Sometimes a little bravery comes just when you need it.

We left the marketplace in search of a sit-down restaurant and stumbled across a café called The Plant.

When I was given a juice/smoothie/coffee menu along with a food menu, I knew we had made the correct decision in coming here.

photo 1

After a 4:30am wake-up call that morning, the Energizer juice sounded pretty appealing. After making this very important decision, I had the other pressing task of choosing from a menu where everything sounded heavenly. We finally decided to share some spring rolls and hummus:

photo 2 photo 3

And I also got a kale salad with toasted almonds, avocado, and tofu. Ultimately, I was pleased with these decisions.

photo 4

Yum!

After lunch, we decided to check out Fisherman’s Wharf. It does in fact smell kinda fishy there, but mostly of the fried variety.

photo 5

I was quite amused by all the seagulls there begging for food and blocking traffic.

photo 3

We really wanted to do the Alcatraz tour but it was sold out for 2 months?! I did get a snapshot of it from afar, and I thought about making a swim for it but I imagine that is frowned upon there.

photo 5

We did however get to visit an antique museum there called Musée Mécanique. An antique penny arcade? This should be fun I thought to myself.

It actually turned out to be a somewhat disturbing experience.

photo 1

Why are we so bewildered? Let’s try it again without the glare…

photo 2

Terrifying.

But wait, this grandmother fortune teller doesn’t look so bad. After all, Big was one of my favorite movies as a kid so how could I pass this up?

photo 1

So, I eagerly entered my quarter into the slot, waited in anticipation as she robotically waved her plastic hand over the cards, and I felt a flutter of excitement as a little card popped out at the bottom. My mind raced with the possibilities: Am I destined for greatness? Will I soon travel the world? Will I be given the winning lottery numbers? I read the first line: “You are nature’s step-child.”  Wow, thanks grandma.

After a little more exploring, we decided to make the trip to San Jose where we would be staying for the night (my sister was staying in Santa Clara which is about 10 min from there)

photo 3

The streets in San Fran are pretty darn steep. My sis was a little worried that her car was going to start rolling backward, to which I assured her that wasn’t possible, although I wasn’t actually 100% sure…

However, we eventually made it to our hotel so that we could relax a bit and take much-needed showers, because there is nothing like airplane to make you feel like you haven’t bathed your entire life. Also, I was feeling pretty sleepy so a little nap sounded glorious, although I never got around to actually taking one, so extreme tired face ensued as seen below.

photo 4

After awhile, my sis picked us up to go meet her husband and his friends at a pizzeria in Palo Alto.

I wasn’t too terribly hungry after our late lunch, so I settled on some spinach gnocchi. Overall, I think I made some really good food decisions that day.

photo 5

Picture looks blah, but was delish!

Next up: Adventures in Silicon Valley (including a visit to Google Headquarters!)

Stay tuned…

❤ VKG

Leave a Reply

