French Oats (a healthy take on french toast)

Happy Friday & Almost Weekend! How was your week? I just did my Stairway to Heaven treadmill workout, and um, yeah it’s no joke. (p.s. if you’re new to running, I highly suggest comsidering the “take it down a notch” options, whew!)

image

I mean, can you see the beads of sweat? Insane. I had to refrain from chugging that liter of coconut water. Yes, I drink from the carton and I’m not making any apologies for this behavior. #rebel

So moving on to more attractive topics, I don’t know about you, but I’m sad to say that during the week when I’m on the go my breakfast often looks like this:

photo 1-001or this

2014-01-08 11.50.19

Not exactly conversation starters.

So when the weekend comes, I enjoy putting a little more effort into the most important meal of the day (although I don’t at all agree with this title–I think all meals/snacks/crumbs are equally awesome). One of my favorite breakfasts to make when I have a bit more time is French Oats. What the heck is that? Well, I used to call it my “big oatmeal pancake” but when I made it for Justin for the first time, he said that it tastes like French toast. Thus, French Oats was born (because ‘oats’ kinda sounds like ‘toast’ and has all the same letters but one…and I prob didn’t need to explain that to you) This is a breakfast I have been making since high school because I love it so much (and I have also eaten it as lunch, dinner, and even dessert many times). It is one of my go-to recipes when I want something easy and that will quiet my stomach rumbles for an extended period of time. Oh and I think it tastes pretty fantastic, too. french oats2

French Oats a deliciously healthy and satisfying play on french toast Ingredients 1 ripe mased banana 2 eggs + 2 egg whites 1/2 cup quick cooking oats 1/4 tsp cinnamon 1 tbsp coconut oil banana slices, fresh berries, honey or pure maple syrup for drizzling (optional) 20140711-122847-44927535.jpg Directions 1. Turning the stove to medium-low, heat the tbsp of coconut oil in a medium pan (making sure the pan is hot enough before pouring in the batter helps it stick less and makes flipping easier) 2. Mash up that banana (I like to keep mine a little chunky monkey) photo 5 2. Mix in your 2 whole eggs & 2 egg whites and mix well. Next, stir in your 1/2 cup of quick cooking oats and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. photo 1 4. Pour the batter into the pan. Note: It will spread out, so with a spatula push in the edges to make more of a compact circular shape (not only is it more aesthetically pleasing, it also makes flipping easier) photo 3 photo 4 6. Cook for about 5 minutes on the first side. Loosen up the bottom with the spatula, making sure it’s not sticking before flipping. After flipping, turn the heat to low and cook for about 4 minutes more. 7. Transfer to a plate and top with banana slices and a drizzle of honey or pure maple syrup if you wish! 20140711-122848-44928161.jpgHave a great weekend!! ❤ VKG


Tell me… What is your all-time favorite “weekend breakfast”? What is your favorite meal of the day? Breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, all of the above?    

Leave a Reply

