Three Things Thursday #4

Happy, happy Thursday! I can’t believe how fast this week has gone by, and therefore how much closer I’m getting to going back to work—yikes! Any other teachers out there feel me on this?

Speaking of Thursday, here are three things I’m excited about this week:

Thing 1: Homemade Iced Coffee

In the summer, I love to make my own iced coffee because I have found that it’s more cost effective than going to Starbucks everyday;) Oh yeah, and because it tastes really really good!

How I make iced coffee at home:

photo 2

Whenever I make coffee at home, I always use my french press. Did you know that pressed coffee better extracts the essential oils and acids from the coffee beans for maximum flavor? I like my coffee dark and strong and this handy dandy contraption never disappoints! (mine is the 8-cup 34 oz Bodum Chambord French Press)

I start by boiling 4 cups of filtered water.

photo 5

Pour a 1/2 cup of dark roast coffee into the French press.

photo 3

This is the coffee I’m loving lately–dark, smooth, bittersweet (and organic!) just how I like it. Goshen Coffee Company is local to the St. Louis area, but you can purchase it from their website.

Once the water has come to a boil, pour over the coffee in the press and cover with the lid.

photo 4

Let sit for at least an hour then pour into a container with a tight-fitting lid (I use a mason jar, of course) and refrigerate overnight (or at least for 1-2 hours).

The next morning, fill a large glass with your preferred amount of ice, and pour the chilled coffee over the ice.

Then it’s time for my favorite step–pouring in the milk! Sorry I’m posting this pic again, but doesn’t it look so cool when the coffee and milk start to mix to create their perfect union of flavor?

photo

After you are done watching the colors mix, give it a stir and enjoy thoroughly.

Thing 2: The Oh She Glows Cookbook

osgcookbook

I had a Barnes and Noble gift card from my class, and since I have a Kindle and (sadly) don’t buy too many actual physical books anymore, I knew I would use it to buy a self-help book cookbook since that is a book that you need to have the actual book and not a digital version.

One of the first blogs I started reading years ago was Oh She Glows. Not only do I love Angela’s vegan recipes, but her sense of humor and refreshingly fun and light-hearted posts (often featuring her adorable cat) are what have kept me coming back over the years.

While I no longer follow a vegan diet like when I first started following her blog, I still eat a mostly produce-based diet and her recipes are very easily adaptable to include animal products if you choose.

Some recipes I’m excited to try from the OSG Cookbook:

Summertime-Cherry Basil Bruschetta–not only do they look and sound delicious, they also look super fancy!

Classic Hummus–I have yet to find a go-to hummus recipe…could this be it??

Roasted Beet Salad with Hazelnuts, Thyme, and Balsamic Reduction–the five ingredients in this simple recipe are all things that I adore and I just know I will love it!

Soul-Soothing African Peanut Stew–this stew has peanut butter and sweet potatoes in it…need I say more?

Our Favorite Veggie Burger–I don’t eat red meat, so I’m always on the lookout for a good veggie version!

Pan-Seared Garlic Tofu–tofu success is all about how you season it, and this looks like a flavor winner.

Can’t wait to get cookin on some of these!

Personal Challenge: Try to make every single recipe in the book (and most likely post about them!)

 

Thing 3: theSkimm

Let’s be honest, I don’t read the newspaper and I don’t watch a whole lot of TV during the work week. And the shows that I do watch, well, let’s just say I don’t make a habit of DVRing the news…

I recently discovered theSkimm , which is a daily newsletter that gives you the “need to know” about current events. This has proven very valuable to not seem like I live under a rock in some social situations. Thank you, theSkimm, for making questions like “What do you mean you don’t know who won the Stanley Cup??” a thing of the past, and questions like”What are your thought about that Ray Nagin fella?” no longer as awkward.

In case you missed ’em:

Three Things Thursday 1, 2, 3


You tell me, what are 3 things you’re digging this week?

Are you an iced coffee drinker? If not, what’s your coffee drink of choice?

❤ VKG

 

Leave a Reply

