Health Benefits of Raspberries + Puppy Pool Party

Happy (almost) Thursday! How was your Wednesday? Mine looked a little something like this:

Breakfast of Champions.

photo 2

scrambled eggs, brown rice English muffin, fresh strawberries

After breakfast Bud and I went for our usual morning walk, however, we only did one lap around the park today because Buddy had a big day ahead of him, but more about that in a sec.

I did a little YouTube Zumba (loving ZumbaWith Caroline B.’s channel!) followed by a little toning with Tracy:

And a refreshing post-workout raspberry smoothie:
photo 3In the mix: 1 cup frozen raspberries, half frozen banana, 2 tbsp. flax/chia blend, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1 cup flax milk

When shopping for smoothie ingredients, for some reason I always overlook the frozen raspberries and usually opt for frozen strawberries or blueberries for my smoothies. The above smoothie made me realize that this raspberry shunning needs to end. Not only are raspberries delicious, but they also have many health benefits!

Health Benefits of Raspberries

Strengthen Immune System: Raspberries are rich in vitamin C, as well as effective antioxidants and phytonutrients which help strengthen your immune system and help your body to fight disease.

Fiber Rich:1 cup of raspberries has 8 grams of fiber, much more than blueberries (4g) or strawberries (3g). Fiber is great for hunger control, as it aids in slowing down the digestive process so that you will feel full for longer.

Fights Inflammation: Raspberry is rich in phytonutrients, antioxidants and tannins which can help prevent inflammation throughout the body.

Heart Healthy: Raspberries are rich in potassium which helps maintain a healthy heart beat and blood pressure.

Healthy Weight Loss: Raspberry ketone found in raspberries may help increase fat metabolism and reduce fat storage, especially in the abdominal region.

Control Blood Sugar: Raspberries rank low on the glycemic index and are an excellent fruit option for those managing their blood-sugar levels.

Combat Cancer: Raspberries contain ellagic acid, a tannin that helps prevent cell damage from free radicals and slow tumor growth.

Not bad, not bad at all


Now back to the reasoning behind Buddy’s abbreviated walk this morning….

Today Buddy had a play date with my friend Michelle’s dog Donald.

photo 4

Not just any play date either…it was a puppy pool party!

photo 5

The neighbor dogs wanted to join in but there just wasn’t enough room–maybe next time pups!

Buddy was cautious at first but after he saw me step in, he jumped right in! Such a momma’s boy:)

While the pups played, the moms enjoyed some wine, naturally. Have you guys ever seen one of these??

corkcicle

When I uncorked the wine to pour myself a glass, I definitely wasn’t expecting a Harry Potter wand to come out da bottle.

corkcicle2

It’s actually a pretty good concept for keeping your wine cold, especially in the summer. And I mean, this graph proves that no other way is acceptable.

photo 3

While sipping our balanced temperature-controlled wine, Michelle pulled out quite the artifact from our high school years:

ijs

That would be about 10 pages of our inside jokes from freshman year of high school. We couldn’t remember what half of the things meant, but for the half we did remember I laughed until I cried and couldn’t breathe. At one point Michelle asked, “Do other people do stuff like this??” Haha, we were definitely a pair back in the day!

photo 2

Thanks for inviting me over, Donald–I had a blast! Next time you can come over to my house–I don’t have a pool but I do have a dog park nearby where we can chill.

❤ VKG & Buddy

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Health Benefits of Raspberries + Puppy Pool Party

    • Haha glad it’s not just me! I still have notes from elementary & middle school in bags at my parent’s house. Maybe someday I’ll go look through them when I need a good laugh:-)

Leave a Reply

