Weekend Snapshots + Plans for the Week Ahead

Happy Monday! How was your weekend? Mine was agreeable, as weekends tend to be;) Here are a few snapshots from this weekend:

Friday

With the summer heat and humidity in St. Louis, I don’t often get to run outside, mostly because I can’t bring myself to get up at 6am during the summer to go for a run–hey, we all have our weaknesses. However, last Friday was overcast and less humid with scattered showers here and there, which meant perfect outdoor running weather. It was drizzling the second half of my run, which was actually pretty amazing–kinda like having my own personal mister machine like they have at amusement parks.

photo 1

Unfortunately this meant that I was double-drenched from sweat and rain and had to take a shower right afterwards, when usually I postpone showers until hours later when it’s absolutely necessary. If this affects your opinion of me, I am sorry but I’m in summer mode right now and mid-day showers=optional until further notice. (Apparently cleaning off toothpaste splatters from my bathroom mirror has also become optional).

photo 2

There is nothing better than a nice, cold smoothie after a nice, long run. My favorite combo of late is strawberries, flax chia blend, vanilla whey protein, and almond milk.

photo 3

photo 2

For dinner on Friday I made one of my favorites that I’ve posted about here.

photo 1When Orange is the New Black ended, I needed to fill the void somehow so Justin and I started watching Season 1 of Fargo. We are now on episode 8 of 10, and my opinion is that it’s a good show but it can be a little intense at times, especially considering it’s based on a true story. Also, the main character (aka Bilbo Baggins) is pretty awkward.

fargo

And of course I ate some chocolate, but not just any chocolate. These would be Callebaut semisweet chocolate chips, aka the best chocolate chips this side of the Mississippi.

photo 4

Saturday

If you are not currently drinking fruit-infused water to stay hydrated this summer, I implore that you do so.

photo 2

Grapefruit water is my current favorite and it was glorious after our morning walk in the park.

park

I have been on somewhat of a blueberry kick lately, so this smoothie bowl made me very happy (almond milk, frozen blueberries, vanilla whey protein, flax chia blend)

photo 4Midway through eating this delightful bowl of purple goodness, I went to go ask Justin a question and he informed me that I had “a bit of something in my teeth” and that “it was distracting”. I guess you could say that.

photo 5

Later that night I met some friends at Ranoush to celebrate my friend Michelle’s birthday and enjoy some delicious middle eastern food.

photo 2

pic from the last time we were here

Happy 28th on the 28th, Shel!

photo 3

Sunday

Our Sunday involved a little visit (actually it was a pretty big visit, as in I probably can’t afford to come back here until I start getting paid again) to my favorite market to restock our food supply.

wholefoodtownandcountry

There is something so cathartic about a fully stocked fridge, ya know?

fridge

jars

Even better is a fully stocked treat pantry. To make it even better, the other day I ordered these chalkboard labels on Etsy since we keep a lot of our food in jars:

jarlabels

I picked Design #13 after consulting Justin (that’s actually what I went to ask him when I had blueberry mouth).

Sunday dinner was at our favorite Vietnamese restaurant, Mai Lee.

photo 3

Grilled chicken spring rolls (these are what inspired my recipe!)

photo 4

Chicken and vegetable black bean hot pot stir fry

photo 5

And coconut curry soup to share:-)

Great end to a great weekend!

Planning for the Week Ahead

Dinner

Monday: Grilled Cod, Asparagus, and Broccolini with Quinoa

photo 1

Tuesday: Whole Foods Salad Bar

photo 2

(I have class on Tuesday nights so I usually get dinner to-go)

Wednesday: Mediterranean Salad with Grilled Shrimp

photo 3

(I’m going to attempt to recreate the above salad I had at Olive & Ivy when we were in Scottsdale, AZ in March. If it turns out good, I will post the recipe!)

Thursday: Turkey Burgers with Grilled Veggies and Sweet Potato Fries

photo 1

Friday: 4th of July BBQ

???

Not sure exactly what we’re doing for the 4th, but whatever it ends up being I’m betting that there will in fact be BBQ involved.

Workouts

Monday: Zumba

Tuesday: Yoga

Wednesday: BodyCombat

Thursday: OFF

Friday: 5 mile run

Saturday: BodyCombat & BodyPump

Sunday: Yoga or easy run

…Looks like it’s gonna be a great week!

What are your food and fitness plans for the week?

BEST thing you did this weekend??

❤ VKG

One thought on “Weekend Snapshots + Plans for the Week Ahead

Leave a Reply

