Three Things Thursday #2

Greetings on this lovely Thursday!

Well I am in a great mood because I finally took a yoga class this morning. Isn’t that what is so great about yoga? I always leave feeling like a million bucks.

photo 3

What’s “up dog”? Get it?? Ok, nevermind.

But I often don’t leave smelling like cash money, if you know what I mean. Especially when it’s a hot yoga class (<–my favorite, especially Bikram!)

I had to tutor in an hour, so I thought maybe I could just blow-dry my clothes a bit.

photo 5

In the end, dryness does not equal shower fresh scent, so I thought it would be more respectful to my student if I actually bathed myself and changed into more acceptable attire. I mean, it was our last session together so I at least owed him that.

Delicious post-yoga smoothie.

photo 2

Frozen mango, banana, apple juice, and green superfood powder

Speaking of frozen mango, are you ready for another round of Three Things Thursday? Here are 3 things that I am digging lately:

Thing #1: Frozen Fruit

In the summer, I am all about the seasonal fruit: watermelon, cherries, grapes, berries…just typing these words makes me drool on my keyboard (maybe that’s why the “g” doesn’t always work correctly). One of my favorite ways to enjoy some of my favorite summer fruit is to freeze them!

Why I love it: I usually crave something sweet after dinner and there’s just something about frozen stuff that makes it seem more like dessert. I know, I know, it’s no cookies n cream sundae, but it’s a great option for a healthy weeknight snack (if you’re like me and save those ice cream sundae indulgences for the weekends).

Two of my favorites:

photo 4

Put in the freezer for at least an hour and voila!

photo 3 photo 2

Oh yeah, and did you see those yogurt covered blueberries I made yesterday? I will go so far as to say that they are almost a dessert.

photo 1

Thing #2: John Masters Organics skincare

john_masters_organics

Why I love it: Their motto is “feel good about looking good” for a reason. According to John Masters, all ingredients in his products must meet these strict guidelines:
1. All products must be made with 70-100% organic content
2. No sodium lauryl sulfate, parabens, DEAs, MEAs, or TEAs
3. No GMOs (Genetically Modified Organism)
4. No animal testing
5. No artificial colors, fragrances or fillers
6. All plant extracts and essential oils must be certified organic whenever possible
7. All essential oils used must be steam-distilled and not extracted with propylene glycol – which kills the
effect of the oils
8. All plant oils must be cold pressed, not heat distilled – which kills the therapeutic properties of plant oils
9. All ingredients must be proven to be beneficial to the hair or skin
10. All ingredients must be harvested in an environmentally-friendly manner (wild-crafted)
11. All ingredients must be bio-degradable as possible

My favorite John Masters products:

john-masters-organics-rose-aloe-toning-mist-2oz

Rose & Aloe Hydrating Toning Mist

This stuff is great for a quick refresher first thing in the morning or after I long day at work.

johnmastersvitamin-c-anti-aging-face-serum

Vitamin C Anti-Aging Serum

Can never start too young, right?

johnmasterslinden

Linden Blossom Face Cream Cleanser

Gentle yet effective–I love that this cleanser leaves my face moisturized instead of dried out and irritated.

johnmasters

Green Tea & Rose Hydrating Face Serum

My favorite! This was the first product I ever bought from John Masters and it is what made me a believer:) Leaves my skin smooth and hydrated with a healthy glow.

johnmastersrose-and-apricot-antioxidant-day-cremeRose & Apricot Antioxidant Day Cream

I switch off between this and the rose & green tea (above). It’s a little bit thicker and works well when my skin is really dry in the winter.

john-masters-organics-calendula-hydrating-mask

Calendula Hydrating & Toning Mask

Like a mini facial at home!

johnmasters3

SPF 30 Natural Mineral Sunscreen

This stuff works great, doesn’t have a strong smell, and doesn’t have toxic ingredients like many other sunscreens.

Speaking of high-quality skincare, let’s move on to Thing #3:

Thing #3: EWG’s Skin Deep

The FDA doesn’t require any studies or pre-market testing of chemicals in personal care products like skincare and cosmetics. Mind-boggling, right?? This makes absolutely no sense because what you put ON your skin ends up IN you. Hormone-disrupting chemicals? No thank you! Toxic heavy metals in my bloodstream? Um, I’ll pass.

photo 1

Me running away

While the FDA might not closely monitor what is in our beauty products, thankfully there is a way to check the safety of our products ourselves.

About EWG’s Skin Deep

(from their website):

EWG’s Skin Deep database gives you practical solutions to protect yourself and your family from everyday exposures to chemicals. We launched Skin Deep in 2004 to create online safety profiles for cosmetics and personal care products. Our aim is to fill in where industry and government leave off. Companies are allowed to use almost any ingredient they wish. The U.S. government doesn’t review the safety of products before they’re sold. Our staff scientists compare the ingredients on personal care product labels and websites to information in nearly 60 toxicity and regulatory databases. Now in its eighth year, EWG’s Skin Deep database provides you with easy-to-navigate safety ratings for a wide range of products and ingredients on the market. At about one million page views per month, EWG’s Skin Deep is the world’s largest personal care product safety guide.

Why I love it: This website is amazing and has taken the guesswork out of checking the ingredients of a product to see if it may be harmful or not. It has definitely influenced which products I will continue to use and the ones I will not.

Remember, even though we can’t control what is in our products, we can help change what is in them by what we DO buy and what we DON’T buy.

I like the idea of helping keep our world (and ourselves!) beautiful:-)

photo 5-001

What are 3 things you are digging lately???

❤ VKG

4 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday #2

  1. Love your 3 things!!!
    I am digging:
    1. Seasonal fruit as well ( not frozen, though I may give that a try!)
    2. Cauliflower… Not sure why.
    3. Orange is the New Black

  2. Pingback: Three Things Thursday #3 | Vitamin K Girl

  3. Pingback: Three Things Thursday #4 | Vitamin K Girl

Leave a Reply

