What I Ate Wednesday

Happy Wednesday! Hope you’re having a great one!

I am realizing lately that as you grow older, you become very wise about some things, such as the best time to do the tasks you have been putting off forever is when you have an even worse task to do. For example, the other day I had a 7-page paper to write, so naturally I cleaned the interior of my car instead.

photo 1-001

Tip: If you are a dog owner and your dog is in your car with you 95% of the time, I recommend getting seat covers or leather seating. Took Fooorevverrrr (like the kid from The Sandlot would say).

photo 5-001

Man, cleaning the inside of a car (especially when you have a dog) is hard work! Now I know why the guys at Auto Spa were giving me the stink eye when I went there a few months ago. However, in the end it was worth it so I thank you, dreaded paper-writing task, for affording me this now beautifully manicured car.

What I Ate Wednesday

In other news, I thought it would be fun to do a What I Ate Wednesday post to share some of the things I like to eat! This is of course what I ate yesterday, as I am nowhere near done with eating today.

Breakfast

photo 1-001

Rise crunchy carob chip protein bar

Why I love this: During the school year, I have to wake up at the ungodly hour of 5:30am. Since Justin and I don’t usually eat dinner until around 7:30-8, I’m usually not very hungry that early in the morning. I think grabbing a high-quality protein bar is a great option when you’re on the go, and much better than skipping breakfast if you’re not terribly hungry.

Plus, I love that this bar only has 5 ingredients:

photo 2-001

Mid-morning snack, aka Breakfast #2:

2014-01-08 11.50.19

Plain Greek yogurt with banana slices

Why I love this: Not only is it a delicious combination, but the protein from the Greek yogurt (17g!) plus the carbohydrates from the banana are wonderful for post-workout recovery–I often add walnuts to this combo for some healthy fats. Tip: If you don’t already, try refrigerating your bananas, they taste so much better cold in my opinion (the skin will turn brown faster, but the banana actually stays fresher longer when refrigerated).

Lunch

photo 2Whole Foods salad bar: spring lettuce mix, shredded beets, quinoa, tabbouleh, toasted pumpkin seeds, shoyu tofu

Why I love this: I’m one of “those people” who often don’t use salad dressing, especially if my salad has a lot of stuff going on like my above creation. I like to taste the individual ingredients, not just the dressing!

photo 3

 It is almost impossible for me to leave Whole Foods without one of these. I’ve admitted before that this is a problem in my life.

Snack

snack

Baby carrots with salsa (yes, you read/saw that correctly.)

Why I love this: I know it may sound weird to some, but it’s actually really good if you’re a salsa lover! If I eat chips and salsa, it’s not because I like chips, it’s because I LOVE salsa–I sometimes just eat it with a spoon. Carrots provide that same satisfying crunch that chips do, but you can eat a lot more of them because they have a lot less calories. Just try it, ok?

Dinner

photo 3-001 photo 4-001

Homemade pizza on the grill: One with mozzarella, mushrooms, spinach, and grilled chicken, and the other a margherita with just mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Why I love it: Do I really need to explain this one?

Dessert

This is what my morning consisted of yesterday:

photo 2-001 photo 4

I have been looking for a new snack idea and found this great idea on Pinterest for Greek yogurt covered blueberries. I had a strong feeling that I would like them, and I was correct. Bursting with cold, creamy, berry goodness, they really are the perfect summer treat!

photo 5

Frozen Greek Yogurt Covered Blueberries

(from caffeinatedchronicles.com:)

You will need: one small carton of blueberries, one Greek yogurt–flavor of choice (I used vanilla), toothpick, cookie sheet or large plate, parchment paper

Directions:

1. Put parchment paper on the cookie sheet or plate so the blueberries don’t stick after freezing.

2. Stick a blueberry with a toothpick and swirl around in the yogurt until fully coated, and then transfer onto parchment paper (repeat until you run out of blueberries or yogurt:)

3. Freeze for at least an hour before transferring them to a baggie or lidded container.

photo 1

Enjoy the rest of your Wednesday!

<3VKG

3 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. Pingback: Three Things Thursday | Vitamin K Girl

  2. Hello Kristen!
    Might have to give those Frozen Greek yogurt Covered Blueberries a go! Summer is almost here, so that would be a refreshing snack!

Leave a Reply

