Arizona: Day 1

Happy Spring (a few days late)!

Speaking of Spring, I recently returned from an amazing 3-day Spring Break getaway to Scottsdale, Arizona.

Justin and I went last year and loved it so much, we just had to go back! Here are some of the highlights from the first day of our trip.

Arrival

We arrived at the Phoenix airport around 7pm (9pm St. Louis time) and we were more than ready for dinner. We had plans to eat at True Food Kitchen in Phoenix since we had heard good things about it, and it was only 15 minutes from the airport.

truefood

I was too hungry to remember to take pictures (major fail) but we started with the edamame dumplings and hummus, and I got the raw slaw salad with salmon and Justin got the bison burger, which he said was the best burger he’s ever had. We absolutely loved this place–wish we had one in the STL area.

After dinner, we made the short drive to the Montelucia Resort and Spa where we were staying. We stayed here a few nights last year and decided it probably doesn’t get much better. Please see below.

 photo 2

First Day Adventures

The next morning I got up to run a quick 3 mile run to enjoy the beautiful scenery, and then met Justin for breakfast at the resort before going hiking. Again, I failed to snap pictures, but my breakfast was glorious: an egg white and veggie frittata, fruit on the side, and a soy latte (of course).

photo 1

Hiking

I was so excited to return to one of our favorite hiking spots from our last visit, the McDowell Sonoran Preserve. After being held captive by cold temps and snow this winter, I was gunning for a nice long hike in the great outdoors.

mcdowell-sonoran-preserve_20130603_17

You know that first warm day after a long, cold winter? That’s what this hike felt like.

photo 4 photo 3 photo 2 photo 1 photo 5

As the above sign shows, there are many different trails you can take. Our hike was a little over 2 hours, but I’m not sure exactly how many miles it was. All I am sure of is that is was awesome.

Post-Hike Relaxation

After our glorious hike, we stopped at a Whole Foods for some refreshments and I was beyond excited when I saw this:

photo 1

Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

photo 5

I know this picture is blurry, but that my friends says “Classic”.  As in the original GT’s Kombucha before they changed it to the “Enlightened” version that we see in stores now. As a big Kombucha fan, I was a little too excited about this occurrence. **For those who don’t know, the enlightened version came about when the fermentation of the tea was deemed to have caused too high of an alcohol level for a normal non-alcoholic drink.** Well, it appears that some stores are now carrying the original, which now includes a disclaimer on the side of the bottle that says this beverage is considered a beer and that you must be at least 21 to purchase it (which, btw, I wasn’t carded soooo I guess I’m officially old). Was there a big difference between this and the enlightened version you ask? Not really, but I still enjoyed every minute of it’s pleasant bubbliness.

After we got back from our hike, we relaxed by the pool for a bit to rest after all that hiking and kombucha drinking.

photo 2

Dinner

After some quality pool time, it was finally time to scrub off that inch of desert dirt I had accumulated throughout the day in preparation for dinner. I decided to wear my new mullet blouse.

photo 3

Biz in front…

 

photo 4

Partayyy in back!

Although he didn’t have the mullet advantage that I had, Justin cleaned up okay too.

photo 5

I was pumped to go back to Roka Akor (we discovered this place last visit) for delicious Japanese cuisine.

photo 3

Their sushi is ridiculously good, especially the soft shell crab roll.

crabroll

Another mentionable is the wild mushroom rice hot pot. So simple, so filling, and sooo delicious.

hotpot-001

I have found that eating really good food can be an emotional rollercoaster. Excitement and anticipation after ordering–>Elation when you see the server bringing your food–>Pure,unadulterated happiness as you eat–>Anxiety and fear as you and your companion eye the last remaining piece of sushi–>Deep depression when the food is all gone–>Satisfaction when your stomach gets around to alerting your brain that you are full, and that you were actually probably full 20 minutes ago–>Intense yearning for chocolate (please tell me this is how every meal ends for you too).

While I did not have the above-mentioned chocolate, Justin did bring me some frozen grapes to help satisfy my sweet tooth.

grapes

All in all, not a bad day;) Stay tuned for Arizona: Day 2!

<3VKG

2 thoughts on “Arizona: Day 1

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | Vitamin K Girl

  2. Pingback: Mediterranean Salad with Lemon Oregano Vinaigrette | Vitamin K Girl

Leave a Reply

