Hooray for the Weekend!

After what felt like a very long week, my Friday night looked something like this.

budsleep

My Saturday, however, was much more exciting! I started my morning with my usual double-header at the gym.

les%20mills%20combat Les-Mills2

Followed by one of my favorite treats.

photo 4

Iced coffee with soy – sweetener + shot of espresso = delicioso

Immediately upon returning home, I made myself my go-to post-workout smoothie.

photo 5

Strawberry Banana Smoothie

Ingredients:

1 cup almond milk

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

1 large handful spinach

1 frozen banana

5 frozen strawberries

1 TBS peanut butter

1 TBS flax/chia blend

smoothie

Cheers!

Another plus about today is that the weather is taking a break from deep-freeze mode and the high is supposed to be around 65 today. Woohoo! This meant that we needed to take a much-needed visit to Dog Park (no “the” necessary, “Dog Park” is all that needs to be said to get Buddy pumped up). Example below.

Me: “Dog Park?”

Buddy: (slowly awakens from a deep sleep)

photo 1

Me: “Want to go to Dog Park?”

Buddy: (stretching out his hamstrings in preparation)

budstretch

Good thing he got in some quality stretching beforehand!

photo 5  photo bud

After the park, we stopped at a cute little coffee/cupcake shop that we always pass by on the way to the dog park and I have been saying “we should stop in there sometime” for forever. Well yesterday it was finally “sometime”. Anywhere that offers gluten-free cupcakes, almond milk lattes, wheatgrass smoothies, and compostable cups (not to mention a super cute, warm & welcoming atmosphere) is okay with me! We will definitely be back!

photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

Cupcakes for lunch? Don’t mind if I do!

When I got home it was time to get ready for a girl’s night out at a local tapas and wine bar. We  had originally planned to go on Friday, but we all were feeling pretty zombified after the work week and decided Saturday night would be more conducive for a fun get-together where no one falls asleep:) Oh, how far off my college days seems.

photo 1-001

After weird hair rituals and the usual last-minute wardrobe change, I was ready.

photo 2-001

Tapas, red wine, and girl time for the win!

photo 4-001

Sunday Funday began with meeting my parents for brunch at our favorite St. Louis breakfast/lunch spot, The Mud House. We went last Sunday after a bit of a hiatus and decided we had to go back immediately. Oh latte, why did we ever part?

photo 2

I am a creature of habit and always order the homemade granola with fruit and Greek yogurt. Justin’s favorite breakfast item is their brioche French toast that comes with housemade syrup, raisins, apples, and walnuts. Sounds good, but why mess with the below perfection:

photo 3

Happy Sunday!

photo 4

Leave a Reply

