Be My Valentine

Happy belated Valentine’s Day! I hope everyone was able to spend the day with those you love the most.

bud-001

My Valentine’s Day was pretty great his year! The morning started with this rather heart-warming display.

photo 3 photo 4

Beautiful flowers, a heart-shaped ring, and a homemade card=<3<3<3

Then it was off to work. Friday was a PD day so it sort of felt like a day off since I wasn’t teaching and I got to go out to lunch with colleagues (gasp!). We went to a nearby pub for lunch where I ordered chicken noodle soup since I was having that “am I getting sick?” feeling since I woke up that morning.

Chicken-Noodle-Soup-1024x768

It did the trick! No cold for this gal:)

After work I squeezed in a quick Tracy Anderson workout: 25 minutes dance cardio & 30 minutes strength

photo 1

Then it was time to shower and get ready for a night out on the town! <–i.e. going out to dinner

We had made reservations at Eleven Eleven Mississippi in downtown St. Louis, a restaurant Justin had been talking about trying for awhile.

elevenmiss

We were a little disappointed that they had a set “Valentine’s Day Menu” and weren’t offering some of the items we were looking forward to trying after looking up their menu online. What? No flatbreads and cheese plates?? Don’t worry, we somehow survived;)

The highlight of the meal was actually the appetizers. We had asked the waiter whether he recommended the crab cakes or the scallops, and I think he misunderstood because he brought us both. Oh well, they were both delicious!

vdaydinner

We each got a spinach salad that had pecans, blue cheese, cranberries, and mandarin oranges. We both agreed that the dressing tasted like the juice from the can of mandarin oranges which=underwhelming. Oh man, have I turned into a salad snob??

For my main dish, I ordered the assorted wild mushrooms with artichoke and pecorino polenta which was pretty tasty.

polenta1111

I also enjoyed 2 glasses of pinot grigio which was delightful, as always. We decided against dessert so of course this happened immediately when I got home. It is a good thing my chocolate stash is located inside the first cabinet on the right upon entering our house.

chocolate

Yes, that is a mega Hershey kiss. I bit off the top and had to restrain myself from eating it in its entirety. I swear it tastes so much better than regular Hershey kisses, which I know for a fact because I ate a couple of those too:)

Whether you went out or stayed in on Valentine’s Day, whether single or attached, I hope you were able to eat lots of chocolate.

th8T5Y1ZCQ

Leave a Reply

